New Member Area New to CF? Stop in tell us about you.

New member with 1978 La Baron

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2020, 04:36 PM
Default New member with 1978 La Baron

Newbe here and just bought a beautiful 1978 restored 2 door LaBaron. Having problems keeping the ignition module alive. Previous owner said he changed 3. I just went thru ny 2nd.
Thinking of going to points! Engine is a 318. I have been a GM guy and mechanic for years, but the lines on this car are beautiful and I want to make a driver out of it as engine, trans, paint, Exhaust, interior, and accesories are all new.

Dom

Old 07-27-2020, 12:13 AM

Hi, welcome. Problems with the ignition modules are usually caused by poor connections. Low quality aftermarket modules are even more susceptible to poor connections. First connection to fix is the ground. The ground is the metal case of the module to the firewall. Clean up this connection on both sides with a wire brush or sandpaper, then seal it from the elements. Next area is the 5-pn plug. I roll up sandpaper tight and twist it inside the connectors to clean them on the plug side. Clean the pins on the module side too. Seal this set of connections up as well. Then clean the connections on the coil, distributor, ballast resistor, ignition switch and any intermediate connectors in between. If any of the female connectors seem a bit loose, then they can be squeezed tighter using pliers, but put a small nail in so you don't over do it.

Check the charging system for proper voltage and check for bad rectifier diodes.

Old 07-27-2020, 03:00 PM

Thanks,