300M, Concorde, LHS, New Yorker Discuss the Chrysler LH platform cars within.

Bleeding a 2.7 cooling system...

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2011, 11:47 AM
Default Bleeding a 2.7 cooling system...

Hello everyone,

I have a 2004 Concorde LX with the 2.7 liter engine. I suspect that the thermostat needs replacing. I understand that I am supposed to bleed the system after I refill it with coolant, but I have never done this before. Is it is simple as just opening that bleeder screw where the top rad hose connects tot he engine? And if so, do you do it when filling it up while the car is off, or running, or does it need to be hot... I have no idea.

If someone has done this before can you help me out?

Thanks.

Old 12-01-2011, 02:52 PM
Super Moderator

yes the bleeder valve it on top bleed it while the engine is off.

Old 12-01-2011, 03:26 PM

Ok, that seems simple enough, some other place on the internet made it sound a lot more difficult than that.

So just to clarify, after the new thermostat is in, while the car is still cool, I will crack the bleeder screw open and fill the coolant from the plastic resevior on the driver's side until it reaches the proper cold level, then shut the bleeder screw, and I should be good to go? Am I expecting any fluid to come out of the bleeder screw, or is that going to just give traped air some way out?

Old 12-01-2011, 05:17 PM
Super Moderator

once the bleeder screw is open u will have air then once there is no more bubbles coming out of the screw u can close it U will need to add coolant to the vary top of the jug on the driver side Most tech have special funnels that allow us to keep the coolant in there and over full until all the bubbles are released from the engine area like when the thermostat opens up.

Old 12-02-2011, 07:22 PM

Alright, thanks for the help. If I could just get one more opinion from you....