How to know if I have separate TCM and PCM? - Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums

Go Back  Chrysler Forum - Chrysler Enthusiast Forums > Chrysler Vehicles > Chrysler 200 & Sebring
Reload this Page >

How to know if I have separate TCM and PCM?

Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

How to know if I have separate TCM and PCM?

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 10-01-2011, 09:30 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 27
Default How to know if I have separate TCM and PCM?

I've never liked the too-smooth transmission shifts, and learned about the mod to cut the wire from the TCM to the PCM for the Torque Management signal.

But I read that sometime during 2004, the TCM and PCM were combined into one unit, so the mod cannot be done.

How can I tell if I have the separate TCM and PCM or the combined unit?

I know I have the "next generation" engine controller they switched to during the model year, does this automatically mean I also have the "combined" TCM and PCM?
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2011, 09:56 AM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 8,086
Default

yes they are one unit
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2011, 12:28 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 27
Default

Is there any other way to get firmer shifts?
I looked into the TransGO Shift kit, but from what I've read, by 2004 model year, Chrysler already incorporated the changes the TransGo kit does.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2011, 07:45 PM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 8,086
Default

nope its all computer controlled if u start messing with that kinda stuff then be ready to buy a transmission or wire harness or new computer.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2011, 09:15 PM
helo735's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 75
Default

You could look into having the PCM tuned...
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2011, 08:46 AM
CHRYSLER TECH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 8,086
Default

yeah go tight ahead
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ruger1944
Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country
10
03-25-2015 03:14 PM
sonician
Chrysler 200 & Sebring
4
10-28-2010 04:35 AM
dusty1959
Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country
2
04-19-2009 07:36 PM
andbudzi
General Tech
3
11-03-2007 11:07 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: How to know if I have separate TCM and PCM?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.