Chrysler 200 & Sebring Whether it be the sedan, coupe, or convertible, this mid-sized model offers a touch of class to every style in it's lineup

Overheating 2003 GTC, 2.7 :confused:

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2011, 12:39 PM
Default Overheating 2003 GTC, 2.7 :confused:

OK, I'm new to Sebrings but I couldn't pass up this car for $1500.00 even though the previous owner was honest and told me about the overheating problem.

At first, I thought that a combination of a mostly water coolant mixture and improper bleeding of the system was the cause. I thought it was boiling due to either the air in the system or too much water vs antifreeze. I also replaced the radiator cap just in case it was part of the problem.

I replaced the coolant with a 50/50 mixture and bled the system best I could given that the bleeding valve is stuck (a common problem).

The car was much better. However, after driving for a while and then parking; it overflowed a few minutes after shutting down the engine. Strong rushes of bubbles and fluid into the overflow container and this overwhelmed the radiator cap.

I also checked that the thermostat opened correctly, the radiator fans operated and that the water pump was pumping coolant. I also checked the plastic housing on top of the engine for leaks ... all good.

I figured I didn't get all the air out the first time so I got creative and used a wide mouth funnel that fits tightly into the overflow container (so I can raise the level of the coolant above the bleed valve), I raised the passenger side of the car (so any air in the engine would move more easily toward container) and I rigged up a clear hose bleeding line off of the top 3/8 inch hose near the stuck bleeding valve (top of the engine).