Chrysler Pacifica Luxury meets versatility in this mid-sized sport utility vehicle

tpms system

  #1  
Old 11-24-2017, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 121
Default tpms system

can anyone tell me for sure if the 05 pacifica has self programming tpms features? i spent the last 4 days trying to find out about this and know one seems to know. i even go to venders and the car shows on some sites not on others. i have 3 sensors of one type and 1 of another type. 3 look like oem 1 looks like the vdo ez sensor but even the vdo site will not reply to questions. so outside of just plain taping off the message window and ignoring it and the tpms idiot light i just can't seem to get a good answer. i would rather have all the features working, i just got this car for my girl and if the car has other issues pop up i would like them to show in the message window so my girl just doesn't start to ignore it.

so is there anyone here that actually knows. it is looking to me that this car falls into the hole for items the mfg installed or not kind of iffy at best.
 
  #2  
Old 11-25-2017, 07:30 AM
busboy4's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 223
Default

The TPMS sensors, if all is working properly re-learn by driving above 15MPH for 10+ minutes. I think anything but OEM is asking for problems. My son had tires put on and they changed a couple of sensors. The TPMS light has been on ever since.
 
  #3  
Old 11-25-2017, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 121
Default

thanks but i have heard not experienced it that sometimes the sensors get damaged during tire work. and it they worked before installing them they should work after unless they were damaged. i talked to 2 tire stores i trust for normal work and they both told me they check tpms before they put them in and of course after to get them into the car system. again thanks for that info. bp.
 
  #4  
Old 11-25-2017, 05:00 PM
busboy4's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 223
Default

Originally Posted by corvairbob View Post
thanks but i have heard not experienced it that sometimes the sensors get damaged during tire work. and it they worked before installing them they should work after unless they were damaged. i talked to 2 tire stores i trust for normal work and they both told me they check tpms before they put them in and of course after to get them into the car system. again thanks for that info. bp.
I don’t doubt you are right - they can be damaged. But for other than early build Pacifica’s -‘04 the system “learns the way I indicated”. And the Pro’s that frequent the site have suggested OEM sensors as I recall good luck with it.
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-2017, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 121
Default

thanks. being i have the repair tools and have my share of repairing tires and can r and r them i will give it go. i can let the tire store do it but to get the tpms out is not a big deal just have to break one side of the tire off the bead. anyway if i do it and i fail i always say nothing ventured nothing gained. that is how i got good at machine repair. and the way i look at it i can't break it much more than it is now. thanks for the information. always welcome. bp
 
  #6  
Old 11-27-2017, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 121
Default

ok i went to the tire store today and they said the rubber valve stem is a aftermarket and the other 3 ate what he thinks are original equipment tpms sensors. and 1 original is dead and 1 is weak and 1 is fair the rubber aftermarket unit is real good. so i will just get 2 more of the same type as the aftermarket unit and he said the car will find them by itself. if that fails he said bring it in and he will program them into the car for free. i do most all my tire work at this store so i's helping out. good for business. he said the spare doesn't have a tpms in it. so i will be good to go just need to get the sensors and i will install them and see how it goes. the weight should be awful close. worst case is i will have to get them rebalanced. thanks
 
  #7  
Old 11-27-2017, 06:28 PM
busboy4's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 223
Default

Let us know how it goes.
 
  #8  
Old 11-27-2017, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 121
Default

Originally Posted by busboy4 View Post
Let us know how it goes.

ok i will keep you all in the loop on this so if you have the same issue you have an idea on the possible repairs. when i get the new sensors i will weigh them and the old sensors just to see if i need to add weights. thanks
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Rakr
Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country
5
04-23-2018 12:19 PM
SARG
Chrysler Pacifica
5
04-10-2008 09:17 AM
Dave49
Chrysler Pacifica
6
01-29-2008 09:24 PM
Gumby
Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country
5
12-08-2007 07:11 AM
Chewbacca
Chrysler Pacifica
3
06-12-2007 09:01 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: tpms system


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.