Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

00 t&c fwd 3.8l p1391

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2009, 04:38 PM
Exclamation 00 t&c fwd 3.8l p1391

Hi,
I am new to the forums, and hope I may offer my expetise where needed. after spending 2 or so hours searching the forums, I decided to register.
I'll introduce myself a bit; I am an ASE certified tech with over 7yrs doing this professionally. I run a mobile repair service in my area. While I specialize in Euro and Aisan vehicles, I've been in the ring with many Chryslers. This one is about to knock me outta the ring soon.
I am having a serious issues with the "family mobile"

00 T&C SWB FWD LXi 3.8L ~17X,000 miles
Vehicle exhibited bucking/jerking while driving about 3 months ago. As time went on, it became undriveable. MIL on code P1391 - CMP/CKP signal loss
Replaced both sensors with ones from Advance Auto BWD to be exact. No change.

Using a bore scope, viewed reluctor wheels for both sensors - no problems found.

Knowing some aftermarket sensors are junk, I replaced them again with OEM Dealer parts. No change

Stopped into a friends shop yesterday for some advise, I was driving the van to get a better feel for when and how long it would have it's problem. I do not drive this car often, it's the wife's. Leaving the shop with no usefull info, the van started driving better than it ever has. No bucking or anything. Ran like an 09 model. Drove to a customers house for an estimate it was fine. I left and started driving home, came to an intersection that required a little extra oomph to get into traffic safely. It shut off soon as I was turning. I pulled off and started looking for anything obvious.Ended up being towed home.