Chrysler Voyager & Town & Country The first and foremost name in minivans leading the class since their inception in the 1980s

Very Poorly car!

Old 12-27-2011, 06:47 AM
Unhappy Very Poorly car!

Hey everyone, , I was driving down the A1 last night, and my GV 2.8CRD LTD 55 plate started making a quick knocking sound, loudly. We pulled over, and the knocking slowed down, we limped the car to the services slowly and as we got in it cut out. The knocking was really loud, i first thought something was maybe stuck on the wheel and was banging the car on the way round, when doing about 50, it almost stopped knocking, sounded like a bag of spanners by time we stopped, Wondered of it might be bottom end?
Im not a diesel engineer and this is the first diesel I have owned, so dont know much about it, except it cost me 211 quid to get it recovered from cambridge to home! (((
Very difficult to describe the knock, except it was very loud and when we pulled up it kind of squeaked a bit! s
Any suggestions on how i might see some kind of signs as to what the problem is would be greatly appreciated, or if anyone had a similar problem, and what they did,??!
Kindest regards,
Bella

Old 12-27-2011, 06:49 AM

p.s it seems to use lots of diesel, and it is full of oil and water! )

Old 12-27-2011, 06:52 AM

Oooh, Meant to add, there was No warning, no lights, no signs, car was driving fine, etc etc

Old 12-27-2011, 10:56 AM

Got a couple of questions for you.

When you say it is full of oil and water I assume you mean the oil and water levels are ok, or do you mean the sump is full of a mixture of oil and water?

Was the knocking from the engine...ie with the car stationary with the transmission in Neutral or Park did it still knock?

Have you tried starting the engine sinnce?...does it turn over at all?

Does the oil light come on when you switch the ignition on? (just wondering if the bulb is blown)