General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

94 Concorde, suddenly fuel gauge, wipers, door locks stopped working

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2010, 06:49 PM
Default 94 Concorde, suddenly fuel gauge, wipers, door locks stopped working

Hi I'm a newbie,
and a electronic tech at a TV repair business for 35 years
I purchased this car a few months ago for my daughter's first car
94 Concorde 68,000 miles
First the auto a/c,heat would come on high in defrost and could not turn off or select any other function. I remove the a/c,heat control unit and inspected it.
The fan speed control seemed funny when twisted back and forth. I sprayed it with electrical contact cleaner and the other controls reassembled it and it worked fine for two weeks. Then one morning I started it and the wipers, fuel gauge, door locks stopped working at the same time.
The a/c, heat will turn on and off manually but only blows on defrost.
The door locks work with the remote but not with the door switches.
The wipers will work if I press the washer but not hi/lo or intermittent.
The fuel gauge stays at empty, and I noticed a few days ago the cruise control is also not working.

I have checked all fuses and relays, even swapped the relays under the hood and on drivers side dash.
I have a Haynes manual which suck's as far as wiring details, but it looks like everything is common to the Body Control Module.
I have removed and checked for faulty or corroded connections to the pc board, tested a few items I recognized and of course disconnected the battery and still no change.

I can get a refurbished BCM through Autozone for $190.00 but would like to know if this is going to fix it and is there any programming that should be done to the replacement BCM or is it just replace and drive on.

The BCM in car has three connectors.

Please Advise
Thanks
supertek57@hotmail.com

Old 02-12-2010, 08:15 PM