1998 concorde does not run..

  #1  
Old 09-07-2009, 11:20 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default 1998 concorde does not run..

1998 concorde with transplanted 3.5 Ho out of a 300m, I think a 99 model.. Car utilizez electronice from concorde.. Car has 35,000 miles or more since swap.. Car ran just fine, shut it off, went inside, next day went out, it rolls over but does not run.. I am getting current to crank and cam sensor, if I manually fire each coil _ I used a test spark plug grounded to acc compressor housing, they fire.. I was told it was not the timing belt by a guy who charged me 30 buck to stand in my driveay and look at it.. Over the last 2 years that car has developed a guage problem, the tack, temp, and speedo, work intermittently.. at forst they worked more often, then as time progressed, less often, but car always ran fine.. So, I cant use codes to diagnose my issue, I have replaced the BCM and guage cluster over the last couple year, as I was told they were the cause of guages not working, so if you could not use codes what would you do. I checked fuses and relays both under hood and at end of dash, everything is good.. when I checked the relay under hood, it would flash 12 or close volts as ignition wwas turned on, but it di not remain, I am at a loss,
 
  #2  
Old 09-08-2009, 09:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Birmingham,UK
Posts: 38
Default

The best way to start is to get the fault codes that might be stored in the engine controller which will give a clue as to what is wrong. Use the ignition key "on-off-on-off-on and leave on" doing that in 5 seconds or less elapsed time.Then watch the check engine light which remains "on" to begin to flash, pause,flash. Count the number of flashes before each pause then repeat to assure an accurate count.Then combine the numbers in pairs in the order of appearance to form the 2-digit fault code numbers.55 will always be the last as it means 'end of readout'.
 
  #3  
Old 09-11-2009, 02:37 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default 98 concorde does not run

Hi, I used your method, tried it omewhere in the neighborhood of 8-10 times, I do not get a check engine light, If i carank engine over it will come on, but not by rotating the switch, also on the auto shutdown relay, when you turn car on, it gets around 12 v for a second then that drops to nothing, and has nothing while engine cranks, We swapped the relays around also.. Shouldn't this circuit be 12 v constant when ignition is on??
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ears18
300M, Concorde, LHS, New Yorker
1
04-24-2015 10:36 PM
hightech24
Chrysler 200 & Sebring
2
08-26-2011 03:44 AM
Seriously?
Chrysler Pacifica
1
10-13-2009 10:22 PM
bcartman_2
Chrysler 200 & Sebring
1
07-30-2009 07:34 PM
chriswest
300M, Concorde, LHS, New Yorker
5
03-12-2009 08:55 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 1998 concorde does not run..


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.